The elevator ride

I read a passage about a young lady whose life was turned upside down. She was involved with an older man. To make a long story short, from reading the passage the older man knew the right things to say and do to “HOOK THE YOUNG LADY”.

It turns out the young lady contracted HIV and became pregnant. The older man wanted nothing else to do with her. Did I mention he was married.

This took me back to a time when I was no more than 11 years old. I lived in the projects back home in West Philly. During that time, at that age it was cool to go outside by myself.

Was hanging out in front of the building because my mom could see me while she sat on the porch. Needed to go to the bathroom, yelled up to my mom to tell her I was coming up.

Went into the building the catch the elevator. There was an OLDER MAN who got on too. He pushed his floor, I pushed mine. As we’re going up, this OLDER MAN turned and looked at me and said”Do you want to make some money”. I said, “NO”.

How he asked, it felt weird, scary and creepy. He just kept looking at me, as if he were undressing me with his eyes. As I said I was only 11 years old, this man had to be in his late 40’s early 50’s.

He was getting off before me, when the elevator door opened, he asked me again, I said “NO”. This man had the nerve to ask me if I was sure. I said “yes I’m sure I don’t want to make any money.”

He left never saw him again.

I told my mom and she went all the way to another planet. Not to mention my dad went to two other planets.

I share this because of the young lady. What has happened to her, could have been my situation had I said yes to the older man on the elevator.

I thank this young lady for helping me bring up something I tried to bury.

This is an everybody issue. Sexual predators are everywhere. They use all kinds of techniques. This young ladies story has inspired me to share and ask of others to share.

Most of all PAY ATTENTION TO HOW YOU FEEL. If it doesn’t feel right, no matter how good that watch looks on your wrist.No matter how much you can call on “BIG DADDY” and he’ll come through with whatever you need. That’s BS. “BIG DADDY” just wants to mold you into what he needs you to be ,when he wants you to, until he’s tired of you.

It will help to STOP this cycle by sharing the signs.

What does this man say to you?

When does he say it ?

What time of day or night?

Does he whisper a lot?

Does he even have enough respect for you to call you by your name while on the phone, instead of saying Hey, baby girl? (just to name a few questions to ask)

 Check your mind, heart, and spirit. If 1 of the 3 aren’t in a good space, something ain’t right.

Avoiding these kinds of propositions can be very tough if you come from a broken home. You yourself are broken from always being broke. All kinds of abuse, no real support system. A lot of times kids have to raise themselves, and grow up way before their time. And lean on the street life looking for “LOVE”.

This is the purpose of SHARING our stories. Social media is at an all time high. People share everything. It would be beneficial to countless young ladies to share wisely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

