The lady in the wheelchair

A few months ago, I was  really frustrated with my job. I felt over worked and under paid. It was hard making needs meet. Living paycheck to paycheck was getting on my last nerve .

My electric bill was due(and a few other things). So, I’m sitting there trying to figure out how to pay everybody and not get cut off or have to pay a late fee.

It came down to being short $100.00 for my Electric bill. Talk about being stressed. Had my electricity been cut off(which everything in my apartment is Total Electric), I would not have been able to function. Not to mention, the whole bill plus a reconnection fee would need to be paid to have electric service turned back on.

Went to work the day after figuring out my financial rut. Was assigned to police one of the women’s restrooms.

Went along with my normal greetings, “Hi, come on in and have a sit”, Or “Come on in we’re open for business”.  In comes a lady being pushed in a wheelchair. All I said to her was come on in young lady(With a smile).Didn’t add have a sit because she was already sitting.

After she did all she needed to do, I was directing traffic. As the lady in the wheelchair was getting ready to leave she placed something in my hand.

I said thank you and placed it in my pocket. After the traffic died down, went ahead and cleaned the stalls, wiped the counters down, then put my hand in my pocket to see what it was.

It was a tip, of a $100 dollar bill.

Here’s my point

Philippians 4: 5-6 says,

5Let your gentleness be obvious to everyone. The Lord is near. 6Be anxious for nothing, but ineverything, by prayer and petition, withthanksgiving, present your requests to God

Going over these two verses had me saying to myself, Self had you not been your bubbly self it may not have been placed on the lady in the wheelchair spirit to give the gift, that just so happen to be the exact amount need to pay  my electric bill in full.

Once we pray, let it go because God already worked it out. Why pray and worry?

I didn’t know and still don’t know who the lady in the wheelchair was.We didn’t have a conversation. But I know who her Father is.

I think about that lady all the time, would really like to give her a big hug and tell her thank you for  being a helper.

 

Leave a Reply

